RSS

“Hello? Hello? Is anybody in there…”[9751 musings; week #12]

25 Nov

I had a distance student moment the other day…(with apologies to Pink Floyd).

As a soon-to-be graduate of the MLIS programme, I received an email from the faculty’s administrative staff asking if I would take the time to fill out a graduate survey about the programme. I assume it’s kinda like an “exit interview” type affair: what you liked, didn’t like, hoped to see, etc. The reason I say “assume” is because as a distance student, I have no survey to fill out. You see, the survey is placed in each student’s mailbox at school. Let me clarify even more: it’s a real mailbox not a virtual one. In fact, even if I were at school and could pick it up, I wouldn’t be able to find it because I don’t have a mailbox. I am currently taking one course-my last one-via distance. As such, I have no on-campus mailbox/pigeonhole type thing. What-ever-you-want-to-call-it, I just don’t got it. So, what do I do? I know, I know: I could email and explain the situation and without a doubt, someone would send me something to fill out. But that’s not the point. The point is that the distance student has not been considered. Or at least it appears that way.

And this isn’t the first time I’ve had this brought to my attention. Earlier in the semester, an opportunity to sign-up for job-shadowing placements was sent out via an email broadcast. In order to put forward one’s job-shadowing request/application, one had to (essentially) fill out a form. A form which was located in our resource centre. On campus. In this case, because I really wanted to get a chance at a job shadow, I emailed the professor who was acting as coordinator. He was great and quickly explained (in a follow-up email) how distance students could “apply”. So all was good–and I got a job shadow. (Yay!)

Ultimately, these aren’t huge issues (and basically, I’ve gotten out of having to fill out the survey). But the fact remains, there are gaps when it comes to ensuring equitable access for distance students. Anyway, as I said, just a distance student moment…

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a sudden urge to listen to The Wall

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in 9751 stuff...

 

Leave a Reply

 
